Ingredient 3 of 6
Butcher's Broom in Neuralisse: A Leg-Vein Herb in a Nerve Formula
Butcher's broom (Ruscus aculeatus) root extract is third in the Neuralisse blend, so a capsule holds at most about 87 mg. Its research is about leg veins, not nerves. Memorial Sloan Kettering says people with diabetes should avoid it, and reported side effects include diarrhea and skin reactions.
Written by the Goneuralisse editorial teamUpdated
The basics
What is butcher's broom?
Butcher's broom is a short, spiny evergreen shrub from the Mediterranean. Its Latin name is Ruscus aculeatus. Butchers once tied the stiff branches into brooms to scrub chopping blocks, which gave the plant its name.
Supplements use an extract of the root. Neuralisse lists it as "Butcher's Broom (Ruscus aculeatus) Root Extract," third in its 575 mg blend. The label gives no extract strength and no amount.
| Label name | Butcher's Broom (Ruscus aculeatus) Root Extract |
|---|---|
| What it is | Ruscus aculeatus, shrub root extract |
| Position in the blend | 3 of 6 (labels list blend ingredients from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per capsule | Not disclosed. At most about 87 mg by label order (part of the 575 mg blend). |
| Amount used in research | No standard dose; studied mainly in a combination product for leg veins |
| Strength of evidence | Limited (leg veins, not nerves) |
| Main use studied | Studied for chronic venous insufficiency of the legs |
| Main caution | Diarrhea and skin reactions reported; people with diabetes are advised to avoid it. |
What it was studied for
Is butcher's broom good for nerves?
The research on butcher's broom is about leg veins, not nerves. Memorial Sloan Kettering describes small studies in chronic venous insufficiency, a condition where leg veins struggle to send blood back to the heart (MSKCC, Butcher's broom).
That matters for a product labeled "Nerve Support Formula." We found no trial that tested butcher's broom for nerve health. Its place in the formula may relate to circulation in the legs, but the label does not explain why it was chosen.
| Question | In the research | In one Neuralisse capsule |
|---|---|---|
| Condition studied | Chronic venous insufficiency (leg veins) (MSKCC, Butcher's broom) | Labeled for nerve support, not leg veins |
| Product tested | Mostly Cyclo 3 Fort: Ruscus extract plus hesperidin plus vitamin C (Boyle 2003, Cyclo 3 Fort meta-analysis) | Ruscus root extract with no hesperidin or vitamin C |
| Amount | No standard dose established | At most about 87 mg, not printed |
| Outcomes measured | Leg pain, heaviness, cramps, tingling, swelling | No published trial |
| Long-term safety | Unknown (MSKCC, Butcher's broom) | Not published |
The main evidence
What did the Cyclo 3 Fort studies find?
A 2003 meta-analysis pooled 31 studies with 10,246 people who took a combination product called Cyclo 3 Fort. Leg pain, heaviness, cramps and tingling eased modestly compared with placebo, by 0.26 to 0.53 points on a 0 to 3 scale (Boyle 2003, Cyclo 3 Fort meta-analysis).
31 studies, 10,246 people
Large on paper. The authors warned that data quality varied from study to study.
Three active parts
Ruscus extract came with hesperidin, a citrus compound, and vitamin C. Nobody can split out the herb's share.
Small shifts
Half a point or less on a 0 to 3 symptom scale. Helpful for some, but not dramatic.
The tingling measured in those studies came from vein disease in the legs. It is not the same as nerve damage from diabetes or low vitamin B12. So the results do not carry over to nerve health, and they do not carry over to a different product such as Neuralisse.
Per capsule
How much butcher's broom is in Neuralisse?
At most about 87 mg per capsule, and probably less. The label hides the amount inside the blend, so that ceiling comes from math, not from a printed number.
The steps go like this. The 80 mg of magnesium on the label needs roughly 400 to 567 mg of magnesium glycinate. That leaves at most about 175 mg for the other five ingredients. Blend ingredients are listed heaviest first (FDA, Labeling guide ch. IV). Butcher's broom sits behind alpha lipoic acid, so it cannot weigh more than half of 175 mg.
Because there is no standard butcher's broom dose, we cannot say whether 87 mg is a lot or a little. The extract strength is not stated either, so the amount of active plant compounds is unknown.
Safety
Can people with diabetes take butcher's broom?
Memorial Sloan Kettering advises people with diabetes to avoid butcher's broom. The warning follows a reported case of diabetic ketoacidosis, a dangerous buildup of acids in the blood (MSKCC, Butcher's broom).
Neuralisse pairs butcher's broom with alpha lipoic acid, which can lower blood sugar. If you have diabetes, show the label to your doctor before you take any capsule, and do not start it on your own.
One case report does not prove the herb caused the problem. But many people shopping for a nerve support product have diabetes, so this caution deserves a clear place. Our who it's for guide covers other groups who should check first.

Give Neuralisse a 60-day trial1 capsule a day · from $49 a bottle · free U.S. shipping on 3 or 6 bottles
Order nowSide effects
Does butcher's broom have side effects?
Reported side effects include diarrhea and skin reactions (MSKCC, Butcher's broom). Most studies were small and short, so rare or long-term effects are not well known.
- Stomach: loose stools or diarrhea. Magnesium in the same capsule can also loosen stools.
- Skin: rash or itching. Stop the product and call your doctor if a rash appears.
- Unknowns: MSKCC notes that long-term safety and effectiveness have not been shown.
The full list for all six ingredients sits on our Neuralisse side effects page.

Know the difference
Heavy legs or nerve symptoms: which is it?
Vein problems and nerve problems can feel alike, but they are different conditions with different checks. Up to half of people with diabetes have nerve damage in the feet or hands (NIDDK, Diabetic peripheral neuropathy).
| Sign | More typical of vein trouble | More typical of nerve trouble |
|---|---|---|
| Main feeling | Heavy, tired, aching legs | Numbness, pins and needles, burning |
| When it is worse | After long standing, by evening | Often at night, at rest |
| What you may see | Ankle swelling, visible veins, skin color changes | Often nothing; sometimes sores you did not feel |
| Where | Lower legs and ankles | Toes and feet first, later hands |
Learn more in our nerve health guide.
Bottom line
Why is butcher's broom in Neuralisse?
The label does not say, and the research does not point to nerves. Butcher's broom is a fair choice for leg-vein support in combination products, with modest results. In Neuralisse it is a small, unmeasured part of a blend.
If heavy, swollen legs are your main concern, ask a doctor about vein care, compression stockings and products that were actually studied. If you have numbness, tingling, burning, weakness or a foot wound that is slow to heal, get checked soon, and right away if it came on suddenly.
FAQ
Butcher's broom in Neuralisse: common questions
What is butcher's broom used for?
Butcher's broom is mainly studied for chronic venous insufficiency, where leg veins struggle to return blood to the heart. Small studies and a combination product meta-analysis showed modest drops in leg heaviness, pain and cramps. It has not been studied as a nerve ingredient.
How much butcher's broom is in Neuralisse?
The label does not print it. Butcher's broom is third in a 575 mg blend that must also hold about 400 to 567 mg of magnesium glycinate, so the best case is about 87 mg per capsule. The extract strength is not stated either.
Is butcher's broom safe for diabetics?
Memorial Sloan Kettering advises people with diabetes to avoid butcher's broom after a reported case of diabetic ketoacidosis. Neuralisse also contains alpha lipoic acid, which can lower blood sugar. Anyone with diabetes should talk to a doctor before taking it.
Does butcher's broom help with tingling in the feet?
The Cyclo 3 Fort studies measured leg tingling caused by vein disease, and it eased modestly. That product also had hesperidin and vitamin C. No study shows butcher's broom helps tingling from nerve damage, diabetes or low vitamin B12.
Does butcher's broom have side effects?
Diarrhea and skin reactions such as rash have been reported. Long-term safety is unknown because most studies were small and short. Stop taking it and call your doctor if you notice a rash or ongoing stomach upset.
Is butcher's broom the same as Cyclo 3 Fort?
No. Cyclo 3 Fort combines Ruscus extract with hesperidin and vitamin C, and the 31-study meta-analysis tested that mix. Neuralisse contains Ruscus root extract alone within its blend, with no hesperidin or vitamin C, so those results do not apply directly.
Why is butcher's broom in a nerve supplement?
The Neuralisse label does not explain the choice, and we found no trial of butcher's broom for nerve health. Its research covers leg-vein problems such as heaviness and swelling. In Neuralisse it is a small, unmeasured part of the 575 mg blend.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
A small team that reads the bottle label line by line, checks every number against public health sources (NIH, NCCIH, MSKCC, FDA, FTC, CDC) and rewrites it in plain English. We do not write for the manufacturer, and we update a page whenever the label, the prices or the evidence changes.
Last updated . See our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by a U.S. authorized merchant, not by the manufacturer. This site is paid a commission when you buy through its order links.
Keep reading
More about Neuralisse

Ingredients
All six Neuralisse ingredients in label order, with the most each capsule can hold and what research used.
Read more
Side effects
Side effects by ingredient, who should skip Neuralisse, and the warning signs that mean stop and call a doctor.
Read more
Who it's for
A 5-question fit check, plus who should skip Neuralisse and who needs a doctor's okay first.
Read moreU.S. authorized Neuralisse merchant
Ready to try Neuralisse?
Pick a pack. At one capsule a day, even the smallest pack covers the full 60-day money-back window.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back guarantee
- Ships from the U.S.

Official website